NT Body Corporate

The Northern Territory is Australia's 'outback state' offering a wide variety of climates and a remaining heritage of Aboriginal culture. NT has more than 2100 strata properties on title representing over 18,000 units. The state capital, Darwin, was named after Charles Darwin. Darwin is forecasted to continue strong growth in the strata property sector due to the presence of military and the mining boom boosting housing construction.

Northern Territory body corporate terminology may differ from other states. Strata Agents manage the common property of the Unit Title with the help of a Committee. When buying and selling property, the vendor disclosure document for the Management Corporation is not compulsory but may be in the Section 37.

Prior to the legislation in Northern Territory changing in July 2009, all unit plans registered prior to this date are covered under the Unit Titles Act 2009 and Unit Titles (Management Modules) Regulations 2009. Any developments registered after July 2009 is under the Unit Titles Schemes Act 2009 and Unit Titles Schemes (Management Modules) Regulations 2009.

Although there is no specialist dispute resolution body in NT for strata management, you can visit www.nt.gov.au/justice

For more information on strata management and management corporations, please browse the links in the side menu, including 'Strata Links' where you can download the relevant legislation and associated acts.

For further information, please contact an ACE strata manager. Please use our 'Contact Us' link in the header-menu to search for your specific ACE manager or to find a Strata Agent for your area.

Northern Territory Head Office




The content presented is not intended to be advice and you should not rely on it as a substitute for any form of advice. This content is intended to be used for general information purposes only and may or may not reference the varied and constantly evolving strata legislation in each state and territory of Australia. It is always recommended that you seek independent legal instruction for interpretation of relevant strata legislation in your relevant state or territory.